One of my teenage daughters—a 2nd generation self-professed libertarian and voluntaryist—is a big fan of YouTube star Savannah Brown.  I’ve checked out a bunch of her videos and I think she’s amazing!

In one of her videos from back in 2015, Savannah Brown shares her top 3 values, which are:

  1. Independence
  2. Creativity
  3. Skepticism

Nice!

In the video, she elaborates on each of her top 3 core values, and explains why she chose them.

Independence 

“Independence in the sense that I want to be comfortable in my own body, as a person. And I want to be happy, as myself, and not depend on any outside thing to make me happy. So, I think just being independent, in that respect, to just have the independence to live your life as yourself without relying on anything else.

-Savannah Brown

Creativity

“I like making things. I like being able to take an idea and kind of shift it, and being able to look at it from a different point of view.”

-Savannah Brown

Skepticism

My third value is skepticism. And here’s why: This might have to do with the fact that I’m a literal anarchist and have issues with authority. But, as a child, we’re just told to obey the people in charge… without question. In first grade… listen to your teacher because they know. But then, as you get older, you realize that people don’t know, and the people in charge don’t know what they’re talking about. They’re just people… I can think things myself, and I can disagree with people who are seen as higher than me, and I can do that. And sometimes I can be right.

-Savannah Brown

 

Don’t be put off by the fact that she uses the word ‘anarchist’. Although the word anarchy is often confused with things like violence and destruction, chaos and disorder, in truth the word ‘anarchy’ just means without rulers. 

anarchon

Anarchists are really just peaceful people who believe individuals can govern themselves. In fact, we all do exactly that in many ways every single day, without even realizing it.

What a great inspiration and role model for teenage girls and young women! In the video, she talks about living her life according to her core values. She puts into practice the things that she values most. The world needs more independent feminine voices like hers.

girls-peace-signs

I hope more young women will come out publicly and express their thoughts on independence, anarchism, and living life according to our values. They have the power to be thought leaders for the next generation of independent young women.

Check out this awesome quote from another one of her videos.

“You are damn right, my body is a temple. I am the god it was built for.”

-Savannah Brown

Thank you, Savannah Brown. I am grateful for you, your independence, your creativity, and your skepticism. You have chosen to use your sphere of influence in such a beautiful, positive way. The world is enriched by your presence. You have touched my daughter’s heart, and mine as well.

You can follow Savannah Brown on YouTube here.

You can follow her on Twitter here.

You can follow her on Instagram here.

And here’s her website where you can order all her cool stuff, like this “My Body is a Temple” poster.

 

Live free with me,

28833386505216060716

My Libertarian Lifestyle Logo 326 x 264

 

